TTT: What is this thing, a cookie, a bar, a …?

Welcome back for week two’s TTT (That’s Tasty Tidbit Tuesday for you people unaware of my alliterative titles). This time I’m going to tackle something that I can’t categorize into just one … erm, category. This popular southern dessert bar-cookie-candy or as I like to say cobacca (sounds a little Chewie huh?)

I got this from my momma, who probably got it from someone else, who probably read it on the back of the Kellogg’s box! Well, to cut what could be a long story short, let’s make a short list of the ingredients!

1 (12 oz.) pkg. butterscotch chips (So dang TASTY! For you butterscotch haters… don’t hate, appreciate!)
1/3 c. chunky peanut butter (I don’t like chunky, so I sub out for smooth n’ creamy. I also use natural no sugar added peanut butter)
6 c. cornflakes, measure before crushing<Important! (Non-flavored cardboard style)

Crush cornflakes, a zippy bag helps keep them all in one place! Just don’t zip it 100%, more like 95% so that the air can escape without an explosion. Using a rolling pin softly but firmly across the bag can also prevent tearing and small air pocket explosions.

Melt chips and peanut butter over hot water. Some of y’all aren’t fancy pancy enough for a double boiler (two pans combined, the lower pan with just enough water to just miss the bottom of the top pan when boiling) so get a nice big glass or metal bowl and sit it in another pan with boiling water. Don not let the top bowl be sitting in the boiling water but just above it. It will help evenly melt the ingredients. Without direct heat, the chips and peanut butter will not as likely burn. Stir in crushed cornflakes, mixing well. I’d suggest a heat resistant spatula/mixing spoon. Don’t want it to melt to the bowl!

Drop by spoonfuls on wax paper far enough apart that in the chance of spreading it won’t all clump together. Let set until cool(no early snitching!). Once cooled and hardened, place in covered container, preferably air tight. Moisture can goo these cobaccas!

Yields 36 to 40 pieces -Depends on if you’re a heaper or a measurer.

 

  1. #1 by Monica on July 14, 2011 - 07:15

    Ok, I must try this! I like something sweet that doesn’t require the oven. Butterscotch sounds delicious. Have you tried it with chocolate chips?

  2. #2 by Rose Heyde Castro on October 25, 2011 - 19:57

    This sounds easy! I think I told you already but I’m a fan of the kitchen, specially sweets 🙂

    • #3 by hooplahicktx on October 25, 2011 - 22:42

      I don’t believe in difficult food. If it’s too complicated I don’t make it. I want to enjoy making it, & enjoy eating it!
      I can believe you’d be a fan of the kitchen, you & your tots need good tasty stuff!

Leave a Reply

