Potato Corn Chowder

Okay, first really cool weather last week kicked in my winter food cravings. Popular winter vegetables are of the root varieties. Potatoes are pretty common and all of a sudden, I’m hunting for potato soup recipes! I go through some soup books, a few historical society county cookbooks I’ve gathered and couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for so I kept hunting.
I volunteer at my library and there I found what I was looking for! They had a few set ups on recipes for the season. I became all excited! I grabbed multiple books with soup in the title. I came home and looked at them in joy and desire. I really couldn’t find what I was looking for until I stumbled across this jewel in the index. I edited to what I like in soup, and this is what I’ve come up with. IT’s almost better the second day because of how creamy and thick it becomes in the fridge!

Potato Corn Cheese Chowder
Makes enough for 6-8

2 tbsp butter
1 onion diced
1 clove garlic minced
1 tsp Dijon mustard
½ tsp paprika
1/3 c flour
3 ½ c chicken stock
2 c baby potatoes diced
(3-4 diced potatoes)
½ tsp salt
2 c corn drained/thawed
2 c whole milk
¼ c diced celery
2 c grated cheddar cheese

In a large saucepan melt butter over med. Stir onion, garlic, mustard, paprika; cook for 5 minutes until softened. Sprinkle or sift in flour; stirring until absorbed and clumped. Take off heat & add stock a ladle at a time and stir until smooth and blended.

Return to heat. Add potatoes and salt; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer covered for 10-15 minutes until tender, stirring slightly. Add corn, milk, and celery. Heat until hot but not boiled. Add half of the cheese stirring until melted. (Don’t make it stringy)

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Monica on October 11, 2011 - 12:26

    This sounds really good, Victoria, unfortunately, the pictures don’t show up for me. The men in the family would make me add ham…

    Monica

    • #2 by hooplahicktx on October 11, 2011 - 14:22

      I was thinking about adding Bacon or chicken. I’ll look over the photos! I had 3

Leave a Reply

