Struggling with Resolutions Part 2

Back when I attended the gym for my exercise I’d combine two goals in one. I wanted to memorize Scripture and tone my body, but while my body didn’t seem to change, my memory did. I found it easy to repeat a verse as I repped and I picked some that I could apply to what I was doing.

The ones I liked to learn:

19 Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price.Therefore honor God with your body. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

or

24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 1 Corinthians 9:24

or even

1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Hebrews 12:1

 

They I felt, I could apply to lunges, walking or being painfully squatted with dumbbells. I did find that listening to sermons was too difficult as I could take notes or write down epiphanies in my bible. So stick with something easy, either something you can bark out, praying unceasingly, or something that you feel fits your workout plans. You could also use this time to increase your prayer life, by deciding who and what you pray about during each rep/weights. Or even you could use this time to be friendly with people at the gym. I know I know, the gym is not where you talk, but where you bulk it up, but you could develop real relationships  with people especially if you’re consistent to your time of day and routine days. Walking next to someone while watching the Ranger’s game? Strike up a conversation about the game and bond. That example I actually did, and she was nice and it was pleasant to get to know someone and to share life together.

 

Whichever your choice, increasing your discipline can be multi-tasked and before you know it, it could be you’re new favorite thing.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

