Pan fried Apples

Here’s something that my mom makes (I don’t think it’s a secret!) that I’ve put a twist on, pan seared apples.

I think my version came about because I failed to make her version. Ha, like all good cooks, it’s accidental!

This is what I’ve come up with below:

image
2-3 TBSP butter

6-8 cored, thin sliced apples (use my apple guide to pick your apple Here)

1/2 c maple syrup

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3 TBSP sugar

Heat your skillet to med-hi. I used cast iron. Add butter to pan and melt. Toss apples in nutmeg, cinnamon, & sugar and add to the pan. Stir fry quickly, until fruit starts to soften. Turn down to medium & add syrup. Stir to coat, and cook apples until thoroughly heated, and apples have softened.


Remove from heat and serve immediately. If you have leftovers (it happens) they can be placed in a plastic bag (once completely cool) and frozen, or refrigerated. If you freeze, remove and thaw before placing in the oven to reheat, at 350F. You can use foil to cover and protect from burning.

  1. #1 by Mom on February 9, 2012 - 09:23

    What was different from mine? The cinnamon?

    • #2 by hooplahicktx on February 9, 2012 - 20:40

      The spices mainly. I’m 100% how you cook yours lol.

Leave a Reply

