The Cellar 22

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Need wine? Cozy setting? Humidified room? Cigars? What about just a Texas beer?

Open Tues – Thurs 1-9 Fri – Sat 1 – 11.

219 E. Hickory Denton, TX 76201

 

I went last Friday, I was upset I didn’t buy a ticket online to get in, but I decided to make wine out of lemons, and went across the street to try the place out.  I walked in out of the chill, looking cool (& wearing my sexy red lipstick) seeing what it was all about. Live acoustic guy playing covers of favorites, a large crowd around the bar, laughing and sharing stories. A few tables made from barrels with little stools holding ladies and gentlemen with glasses of liquid gold. I amble to the right and find a humidified room with comfy chairs, and manly reserved taste, with barely a wisp of after smoke.

As I’m looking around a nice older gentleman walks up and asks if I need anything, or if I needed any help and I said sure, I was there for my first visit. He gets me settled by finding me a house brand moscato, and we have a great chat about Denton and his business. The wine was sweet (as I hoped) and so was he. His wife is a retired TWU teacher, his daughters got degrees there, and yet after many happy years as a plumber, he felt called to go into wine about a decade ago when a friend taught him the difference between red and white!

But here’s a few facts: Wine by the glass $5-15; Wine by the bottle $15-115; Cigars (with walk-in Humidor); Seasonal beer on tap (& 25 in bottle); Appetizers (for you cheese junkies) & Happy Hour Tue – Sat 3-6PM and that’s down right amazing.

So come support a local business with local people and downtown local charm. Drive, ride a train, or walk on over to The Cellar 22 on Hickory for a bubbling good time!

www.thecellar22.com

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

