Twisting Pasta Pomodoro

So this guy The Ranting Chef posted a recipe for pasta pomodoro. That got me thinking (and slightly drooling). But I wanted to stretch my portions a little further, y’all know I’m not exactly the richest person out there. I decided to hunt around in my freezer for something that would be good. Eureka! I found something not quite frost bitten, a pound of italian sausage, not in casing. I let it thaw as I purchased the cherry tomatoes and fresh basil.

I’m not sure The Ranting Chef would approve, but hey, that’s what editing recipes is for! I needed something sustaining.

My Twisted Pasta Pomodoro (I’m pretty sure it’s not called pomodoro any longer!)

9 oz fresh pasta (or Buttoni’s fettuccine) or 1/2 lb dried pasta

1 pint cherry tomatoes/grape tomatoes sliced lengthwise

1 clove garlic peeled and diced

8 large leaves basil chopped

3 TBSP olive oil

1 lb uncased italian sausage

1/2 c pasta sauce or pizza sauce base

Bring 4 QT water to a boil with a little salt. In a large saucepan bring 1 TBSP oil to high. Add the lb of sausage, brown, and break into small pieces. Once finished, empty from pan and use same pan to heat remaining oil, tomatoes, basil and garlic.

Add pasta to boiling water. If fresh pasta, it’s only a few minutes, about 3 minutes. Happens to be the same time it takes the other pan to cook.

Add 1/2 c sauce and cooked sausage to the sauce pan. Drain pasta, add to saucepan.  Stir a few moments, and after 1 minute or two it’s ready to serve.

Twisted from: Pasta Pomodoro

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

