Potato Soup Ala Mother’s Day

This wasn’t the funnest Mother’s Day, not with every family member sickened with upper respiratories. But as the good & healthy child I set forth to make something they could eat. I thought of warm potato soup & searched the interwebs for just the right one; bacon, cheese, creamy goodness as required. I stumbled upon (pun!) Chunky Cheesy Potato Soup on Food network. I had to edit, but here’s the dish:

1/2 lb Bacon (no precooked junk)
1/2 large white onion diced
4 potatoes unblemished, chopped
1/2 head garlic diced
1 Qt heavy cream
2 c grated cheddar (I like sharp)
1 Tsp flour
2 green onions chopped
Salt & pepper

image

Cook bacon in a large pot or Dutch oven until crispy, do not drain drippings, but remove bacon to cool; crumble pieces.

image

I semi peeled my potatoes; I like a little skin for flavor. I also soaked them in 1 clove garlic diced & water while the bacon cooked.

image

image

Drain potatoes, add potatoes,onions, & garlic to drippings. Cook on med-hi for about 15 minutes, until onion is transparent, stir consistently.

image

Add cream, salt pepper to taste.

Dredge (add flour to cheese & toss for good coating) cheese.

image

Add slowly to the pot, stirring to melt. Add a few green onions.

image

Add bacon,stir and simmer until thoroughly heated. Serve with a garnish of green onions.

image

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sybaritica on May 27, 2012 - 10:58

    I love potato soup. Never had it with cheese though…

    • #2 by hooplahicktx on May 27, 2012 - 17:30

      I always eat mine with cheese! Something about the gooey, thickened texture. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

