Casserole el Campbell

I love this casserole. It’s been a few years of love. My mother has always made this, and I’ve made it myself for many years. It’s a staple in my repoitre. It makes easily 6 – 8 servings depending on what you add to it.

I’m not even a big fan of chili or cornbread by itself, but it’s one of my favorite things when combined. Here’s the recipe as I make it.

 

Chili Campbell Casserole

1 box Jiffy cornbread mix (egg + milk)

6 slices American cheese

1 can drained corn

1 can chili (I used wolf brand)

1 can drained and washed black beans

green onion chopped (topping)

sour cream (topping)

shredded cheese (topping)

 

Preheat to 400.

Mix chili, beans, and corn and layer on the bottom of a 9×9 or similar size. I used Reynold’s dual paper, half foil/half parchment paper to line the pans, it’s great.

Layer the american cheese on top of the chili mix. I added this because it made it so much easier to add the cornbread mixture without mixing up the cornbread & chili. Cover the chili as completely as possible.

Create cornbread as it’s on the box, egg & milk and mixed until thoroughly moistened. Spread evenly across and make sure it’s not too thick in the middle. Bake according to mix instructions. Let cool, and cut to serve. I like mine for the next day, so I let it cool to room temp then stored. It’s easy to cut and reheat.

Top with shredded cheese, sour cream, and chopped green onions. I even use fat free american cheese, 2% shredded, fat free sour cream & lean chili & it’s still delicious. I invite you do my favorite meal with your family!

image

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mom on August 14, 2012 - 20:18

    I saute onions and bell peppers to mix in with chili and use Ranch Style beans instead of black…also use cheddar. It’s a very easy to change up recipe. Have also made the cornbread topping as Mexican cornbread. And the only chili I will use is Wolf Brand! :o)

Leave a Reply

