Family let’s you down sometimes

Our Sunday Sermon discussed the sellout of David by his relatives, the Ziphites, part of the Judah tribe. This was a trust in the sovereignty of the Lord. So if you feel sold out… David can empathize.

1 Samuel 23:19-24 ESV

Then the Ziphites went up to Saul at Gibeah, saying, “Is not David hiding among us in the strongholds at Horesh, on the hill of Hachilah, which is south of Jeshimon? Now come down, O king, according to all your heart’s desire to come down, and our part shall be to surrender him into the king’s hand.” And Saul said, “May you be blessed by the Lord, for you have had compassion on me. Go, make yet more sure. Know and see the place where his foot is, and who has seen him there, for it is told me that he is very cunning. See therefore and take note of all the lurking places where he hides, and come back to me with sure information. Then I will go with you. And if he is in the land, I will search him out among all the thousands of Judah.” And they arose and went to Ziph ahead of Saul.

Now David and his men were in the wilderness of Maon, in the Arabah to the south of Jeshimon.

The Related Psalm:
Psalm 54:1-7 ESV

O God, save me by your name,

and vindicate me by your might.

O God, hear my prayer;

give ear to the words of my mouth.

For strangers have risen against me;

ruthless men seek my life;

they do not set God before themselves.  Selah 
Behold, God is my helper;

the Lord is the upholder of my life.

He will return the evil to my enemies;

in your faithfulness put an end to them.

With a freewill offering I will sacrifice to you;

I will give thanks to your name, O Lord, for it is good.

For he has delivered me from every trouble,

and my eye has looked in triumph on my enemies.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

